Faculty of Science

Yamagata University

ホーム > Faculty of Science, Yamagata University > About us

About us


Science is an academic study of the universal laws and principles found in natural phenomena. In the 21st century, it is thought that it will be an era in which each field of natural science has evolved and integrated to create new science. In order to understand such science correctly and to stand in the field of advanced research, the Faculty of Science of Yamagata University will emphasis on learning the general science of mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, earth science, and information science. The Faculty of Science will contribute to society through innovative research activities and outstanding educational programs.


When Yamagata University was founded in 1949 it consisted of four faculties (Literature and Sciences, Education, Engineering, and Agriculture), with the Faculty of Literature and Sciences containing two departments (Literature and Science). The restructuring of the Faculty of Literature and Sciences in 1967 resulted in the establishment of three new faculties on Kojirakawa Campus; Literature and Social Sciences, General Education, and Science. At that time the Faculty of Science consisted of four departments; Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology. Although buildings for scientific research had been built the previous year, it was not until the end of 1970 that buildings for the Faculty of Science were completed. The Department of Earth Sciences was created in 1978 and the Graduate School of Science (Master’s Program) began in 1979, with a new building for both of these being completed in 1980. The first graduate students in the field of Earth Sciences were admitted a few years later, in 1982. A major overhaul of the Faculty of Science took place in 1995 including the renaming of three departments; Mathematical Sciences, Material and Biological Chemistry, and Earth and Environmental Sciences. In 1999, the Faculty of Engineering and the Faculty of Science established the Graduate School of Science and Engineering, which included both Master’s and Doctor’s Programs, with the latter named Interactive Symbiosphere Sciences.  In 2017, the five departments of the Faculty of Science were merged into one department which has a unique educational system. Thus, all students can select educational program they want after entering the university. In addition, the Graduate School of Science (Master’s Course) also integrated five majors into one major of science.


The Faculty of Science is committed to maintaining high standards of research and education, and to improving its teaching and research facilities. Both the undergraduate and graduate curricula reflect the wide scope of research interests among the current faculty staff, while the recent shift towards globalization has been fully embraced by encouraging staff and students to participate in overseas visits, student exchanges and international conferences. Some of the faculty staff are involved in international research projects involving overseas fieldwork and collaboration, while others are focused on more local issues within the prefecture or other parts of Japan. The Faculty of Science has also played host to a number of international and domestic conferences and workshops.

Educational Programs

In 2017, the Faculty of Science successfully accomplished development to have the unique education-system which provides 6 courses’ curriculum under three study programs consisted by 5 major fields. Every student belongs to one department the department of science and is able to select a course curriculum and a study program depending on his hope.

Students learn all fundamental subjects of following 6 courses (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science, Data Science) to get a broad perspective on science at 1st grade.

Courses’ Curriculum:
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Earth Science
  • Data Science
Study programs
  • Standard program
  • Frontier program
  • Science Communicator program

* 5 research fields: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science)